Jan 112018

JAN HALL – January 11, 2018 at 03:49PM

Montreal singer-songwriter Rob Lutes joins us on Episode 358 of Folk Roots Radio to chat about his latest album, “Walk In The Dark”, a blues roots delight and our favourite album of 2017. As always, we also check out more of the great new folk and roots releases we’ve received. Check out the full playlist below.


Rob Lutes fabulous new album, Walk In The Dark, perfectly showcases his wonderful voice and fingerstyle playing. The album finds Lutes, a Kerrville New Folk winner, Maple Blues and Canadian Folk Music Awards nominee exploring a wide range of subjects and paying homage to some heroes: James Cotton (on “There’s No Way to Tell You That Tonight”) and guitarist Joseph Spence (on the instrumental “Spence”) alongside a couple of co-writes with award-winning Americana songwriter Dale Boyle and a cover of John Prine‘s “Rocky Mountain Time”. Walk In The Dark also features support from some of the finest blues and roots players in the business, including regular side player guitarist Rob MacDonald, keyboardist Bob Stagg, Guy Bélanger on harmonica and Joe Grass on mandolin. The album is, truly, a tour de force and a worthy choice for our favourite album of 2017. You can visit Rob Lutes online at roblutes.com.

Check out more of our favourite albums of 2017 on Episode 356: Best of 2017 – The Top 10 HERE and on Episode 357: Best of 2017 – The Next 15 HERE.

Show Notes

Notes about some of the new music on our radar that made it into Episode 358 of Folk Roots Radio.

[coming soon]

And that’s all we have time for, this time around. Thanks to all the artists who share their music with us, and thank you for listening. We have a lot of great music and interviews to bring you on future shows. I hope you’ll join us!


You can listen to this episode again on Soundcloud by following the link below. You can also listen to episodes of Folk Roots Radio, on demand, via iTunes, Mixcloud, Stitcher and Tune-in Radio. (Click on the highlighted link to reach your chosen platform.)

[coming soon]


Nicolas & The Iceni (Theme)

Lucy She Rises (Demo)

Roll Right (Pre-release, self)

Anna Tivel


Small Believer (2017, Fluff & Gravy Records)

Dawson Rutledge

Thief Of A Lover

Monsters (2017, Rusty Doc Records)

KC Groves


Happy Little Trees (2017, Self)

Dina Maccabee

Land So Sweet

Land So Sweet – Instrumental Tunes from Sweet Land, The Musical (2017, Self)

Rob Lutes

A Little Room

Walk In The Dark (2017, Self) CDN

Interview: Rob Lutes joins Folk Roots Radio to talk about his latest album “Walk In The Dark”, our favourite album of 2017.

Rob Lutes

Believe In Something

Walk In The Dark (2017, Self) CDN

Rob Lutes


Walk In The Dark (2017, Self) CDN

Rob Lutes

Walk In The Dark

Walk In The Dark (2017, Self) CDN

Janie Burnett & Blue Room

Walk It Out Of You

You See This River (2017, Minor Regret Records)

The post Folk Roots Radio Episode 358: Rob Lutes & More New Releases appeared first on Folk Roots Radio.

Feed: http://ift.tt/2carEdH
Inoreader Page: http://ift.tt/2DnIO0H
Blog post: http://ift.tt/2CSfm1K

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Blue Captcha Image