Aug 122017

exy – August 12, 2017 at 09:36AM

Kris KristoffersonThe Austin Sessions was recorded by the famed singer-songwriter with producer Fred Mollin at Arlyn Studios in 1997 as part of a songwriter-focused series also featuring retrospectives from Jimmy Webb (Ten Easy Pieces) and Barry Mann (Soul and Inspiration).  During the low-key, stripped-down sessions, Kristofferson was joined by a small group of session veterans as well as Mollin and the late Stephen Bruton on guitar.  They laid down new renditions of his classic songs including “Me and Bobby McGee,” “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down,” “For the Good Times,” “Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again),” and “Help Me Make It Through the Night.”

Fred Mollin, who has penned the liner notes for this reissue, reflected, “I knew in my heart that…

130 MB  320 ** FLAC

…I could pull off a great under-produced production and give Kris the album he always wanted to make: one that felt like it had the uniqueness and rootsy feeling that Dylan accomplished on his early electric albums.”  A number of guests joined Kristofferson and Mollin on the album, as well.  Jackson Browne, Steve Earle, Vince Gill and Mark Knopfler are heard on “Me and Bobby McGee,” “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down,” “Help Me Make It Through the Night,” and “Please Don’t Tell Me How the Story Ends,” respectively.  Gill joins Allison Krauss on “Why Me” and Marc Cohn adds harmonies to “Loving Her Was Easier.” Session outtakes “Best of All Possible Worlds” and “Jody and the Kid” make their debut on this new expanded edition. Mollin states in the press release that the songs show different sides of Kristofferson’s songwriting: “One is lighthearted, dry, sarcastic and one of the greatest examples of Kris’ humor and storytelling, while the other is just deeply emotional and shows the true aching heart that can be felt like an arrow, from Kris to the listener.”


  1. Me and Bobby McGee
  2. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down
  3. For the Good Times
  4. The Silver Tongued Devil and I
  5. Help Me Make It Through the Night
  6. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)
  7. To Beat the Devil
  8. Who’s to Bless and Who’s to Blame
  9. Why Me
  10. Nobody Wins
  11. The Pligrim, Chapter 33
  12. Please Don’t Tell Me How the Story Ends

Inoreader Page:
Blog post:

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Blue Captcha Image